Facebook Introduces Five New Ways To React to Posts

Facebook introduces five new ways to react.

  • · Posted 25 months Ago
  •  BY Jack Lowe

Since early 2009, Facebook has only offered two ways to interact with people's statuses - "like" or comment - but today the social media giant rolled out five new reaction options - "love", "haha", "wow", "sad" and "angry". To select one, users can simply hover over the like button and wait for them to pop up.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

To choose the five new options, Facebook analysed trends in user comments, especially short comments between 1 and 3 words. "It became pretty clear that it wasn’t going to be about 'like' or 'dislike,' and it wasn’t going to be 100 reactions," said Facebook News Feed engineering director Tom Alison when speaking to Fortune. "In the end, it was about keeping things simple."

If you don't have the new options yet just wait a few hours or a day or two. They're rolling out globally as we speak.

Want more news like this? Receive our daily newsletter: