Parquet Courts announce new album and share "Almost Had To Start A Fight / In And Out Of Patience"

  • Posted 3 weeks Ago

Parquet Courts have just announced details of their new Danger Mouse-Produced album Wide Awake!. It’s out on 18 May on Rough Trade Records and comes preceded by the great sounding single "Almost Had To Start A Fight / In And Out Of Patience".

Take a listen to it above via an animated video featuring artwork by Parquet Courts’ own A. Savage.

Speaking about the record and working with Danger Mouse, Savage says via press release:

"The ethos behind every Parquet Courts record is that there needs to be change for the better, and the best way to tackle that is to step out of one’s comfort zone. I personally liked the fact that I was writing a record that indebted to punk and funk, and Brian’s a pop producer who’s made some very polished records. I liked that it didn’t make sense".

Check out the tracklist and artwork for Wide Awake! below. You can pre-order the album now over on Rough Trade.

Parquet Courts - Wide Awake!
1. Total Football
2. Violence
3. Before the Water Gets Too high
4. Mardi Gras Beads
5. Almost Had to Start a Fight/In And Out of Patience
6. Freebird II
7. Normalization
8. Back to Earth
9. Wide Awake
10. NYC Observation
11. Extinction
12. Death Will Bring Change
13. Tenderness