BBC Axes Never Mind The Buzzcocks After 28 Series

  • Posted 38 months Ago

Longstanding BBC Two music panel show Never Mind The Buzzcocks has been axed after almost two decades on television. The show began in 1996 and ran for 28 series totalling 269 episodes. It was presented by Mark Lamarr early on, he was followed by Simon Amstell, and then later Rhod Gilbert. Regular captains included Bill Bailey, Phil Jupitus and Noel Fielding.

A BBC spokesperson gave this statement:

"After 28 series we've decided not to bring Never Mind The Buzzcocks back to the BBC. This will create space for new entertainment formats in the future. We'd like to thank the team at Talkback, Rhod Gilbert, all the brilliant hosts over the years and of course Noel and Phill for the years of enjoyment they've given BBC Two viewers."

Take a look at a few of classic moments from the pregramme below, including Preston of The Ordinary Boys walking off, Huey Morgan smashing a mug and Mark Lamarr’s thoughts on “Angels” by Robbie Williams.